Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

May 15, 2018




Social Creature is a vulgar glimpse into the lives of incredibly unstable people and the repercussions of their truly vile decisions. Tantalizing, repulsive, and you cannot put it down despite the bizarre storyline. It’s akin to addictive tv shows (I’m looking at you Vampire Diaries/Pretty Little Liars) where you just HAVE to know the ending. The writing is fast and compelling, despite the excessive crude subject matter(s) and definitely doesn’t read like a debut novel. 



For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.

They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them... They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste...

Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon.


Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.
(synopsis from Goodreads)


I have never been to New York nor do I associate with people similar to the characters in Social Creature and I must say, thank goodness! As the tale unravels more unsavory bits are revealed through the eyes of Louise, our main character who is a self-proclaimed screw-up (although her choice of words are much more...colourful). While, likened to Donna Tartt's writing, there were only minute ghosts, if only in the character of Hal with the same unrelenting and brash personality as Bunny, from The Secret History. The rest of the characters are either overly pretentious (which also is reminiscent of Tartt's characters), especially Lavinia who just wants 'to live!' or another fly caught in Lavinia's drug infused web. I'd say the only character with any merit is Cordelia, Lavinia's sister (unfortunately).



If you liked The Secret History, Gossip Girl, or The Talented Mr Ripley, I would say there’s a good chance you’d like Social Creature
Social Creature is set to be published in June 2018. 

Thank you to Doubleday for sending me this ARC! 

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Subscribe